IMA Student Visit

American Family is often invited to meet with student groups on various campuses to talk about our company – our products, culture and business climate, the career opportunities we offer and our recruitment process. I participated in a recent outreach opportunity at the University of Wisconsin – Madison where I met with the student chapter of IMA (Institute of Management Accountants)

The evening was a terrific experience, I must say. I appreciated the students’ interest, and several of them offered great questions: “What is the best way to list salary expectations on an application?”, “What types of experiences or student activities make me a better candidate for an internship?” and “Should I pursue public accounting prior to private industry?”

After the event wrapped, I was impressed with the amount of students who hung around to ask questions, similar to what we usually see at a career fair booth. It was a great opportunity to share more about careers at American Family.

I do find these types of activities very rewarding, plus it’s a great way to give back to my community. Let us know if we can connect with your organization. Students, we welcome your comments or questions below, and we’ll respond to you as quickly as we can.

To learn more about our internships or fulltime job openings, visit our career site

One Comment

  1. Posted March 14, 2011 at 5:39 pm | Permalink

    As to should I seek public accounting first before private employment. YES. Learn about the 1000 stupid things that small business people do every day that kills cash flow. Then you will be better situated to contribute to your firms profits and understand the real value of good reports on a timely basis.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

