From the Inside

Testing. 1-2-3. Testing.

Ahem.

(I write a blog on our company intranet that only current American Family employees can see, so this is my first time writing for the real deal interwebz. I’m a little bit nervous. Here we go.)

HELLO, WORLD!

Sorry.

I suppose I should back up just a little.

My name is Scott and I work in the employee benefits department here at American Family. Among other things, I’m responsible for BenWeb, our company intranet website for employee benefits information. I write blogs, articles and other interesting stuff about benefits.

You’ll notice that I just used the words “interesting” and “benefits” in the same sentence. What’s that, you say? Is American Family Insurance some kind of Bizarro World employer where up is down, right is left and employee benefits are interesting?!?

Well, I frankly don’t know anything about Bizarro benefits, but I do know that our benefits communications definitely are interesting, not to mention useful and even sometimes entertaining.

For example, if you want to know about the relative merits of Roth contributions to your 401(k) plan, you can read, “Who is Roth, and How Does His 401(k) Work?” If you’re curious about the advantages of regular flossing, you can read, “The Quickest Way to a Man’s Heart is Through His Dental Floss”. And I’m not sure I can even explain what “Channeling Walter Brennan” is about. But you’ll want to read it when you come to work here.

Which in a very roundabout way brings me to the point: Come to work here!

Now I know you don’t need much more of a reason to come to work here other than the chance to read BenWeb, but we do have lots of other great benefits. For example, we offer both a pension plan AND a 401(k) plan with a company match – not many companies do that anymore. We provide paid time off for you to volunteer at the non-profit of your choice and we have some great flexible scheduling options to help you balance your work with the rest of your life. And I’m just scratching the surface of the great benefits American Family has to offer.

Since answering questions about benefits is what I do, feel free to hit me up in the comments if there’s anything you want to know.

Except don’t ask me about “Channeling Walter Brennan”. Seriously, you have to come to work here to find out.

4 Comments

  1. Shanen Smith
    Posted October 24, 2010 at 7:47 am | Permalink

    Hi Scott,

    Great blog post! Very entertaining. Now about channeling Walter Brennan….

    Have a great weekend!
    Shanen

  2. Scott Stanley
    Posted October 26, 2010 at 1:20 pm | Permalink

    Thanks, Shanen!

    It’s funny–you’d be surprised how many people don’t know who Walter Brennan was. I must be getting old!!

    Scott

  3. Posted November 4, 2010 at 8:04 am | Permalink

    Very nice! And not only do I KNOW who Walter Brennan was, I do a credible imitation of him. Of course, it’s a pretty safe imitation since very few people know who he was or what he sounded like!

    YES. YES. YES. I would like to come to work there!

    Have a great day.

    John

  4. Scott Stanley
    Posted November 5, 2010 at 4:33 pm | Permalink

    Say, John–You ever been bit by a dead bee?? :) Best Walter Brennan performance ever!! I’ll leave it to the rest of you to figure that one out!!

    And we all hope you do come to work here, John. Thanks for your comment!!

    Scott


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

