Recruiting — What’s Next?!?


This past week I attended the Greater Madison Area SHRM Human Capital Conference. (That’s the Society for Human Resources Management, in case you’re not familiar.) I’ve been a planning committee member for the past few months, but I was still unsure what to expect, having never been to the conference before. The day was filled with energizing keynote speakers like Ryan Estis, who blogs at Passion on Purpose, and Andrea Gappmayer, who speaks about The Carrot Principle – both engaging and knowledgeable, along with breakout session on employment law, recruiting, diversity, benefits and networking.

During a recruiting breakout session, titled Are you Still Recruiting Like It’s 1999?, two emerging trends jumped out and I’ve been circling through them ever since.

The first is that more and more recruiters are contacting candidates via text messaging versus phone or email. The second is the use of webcams for interviews instead of in-person or on the phone. I have not decided quite yet how I feel about these new trends. I like the idea of web interviews from a social responsibility standpoint, creating less travel and making our environmental footprint smaller; however, I struggle with the fact that by using media as a means of communication, we are losing the personal side of our business in HR.

What’s your reaction to these new trends? How would you feel about interviewing into a webcam? Is texting too casual for you or is it comfortable? What are some recruiting trends that you’ve come across that you like?

Nina

4 Comments

  1. James Bowlin
    Posted May 27, 2010 at 10:08 am | Permalink

    Using text messaging to contact candidates should only be done if the candidate has indicated that as a means of communication. Some people don’t like or use text messaging and may have it blocked on their phones. I have to agree with you that using a webcam takes away from the personal side of interviews and should probably only be used for positions that don’t require a lot of social interaction.

  2. Scott Wilde
    Posted June 10, 2010 at 11:06 am | Permalink

    It is great see that you have been thinking about the content of the “Are you recruiting like its 1999” session. One of the goals Julia and I had when presenting this was to get recruiters thinking about the way they recruit and talk with people. It looks like that is happening.

    Your thoughts resonate with me about the balance between high tech and high touch. This has even been a topic brought up at many recent recruitment conferences and it is refreshing to get into group discussions about how to build relationships and engage people.

    I love to use the tools and technology to reach out to someone, but enjoy a person-to-person conversation more. Either way the connection is made I still have the same philosophy of engaging a person in a positive and meaningful way.

    If interested in networking with me, feel free to connect with me on LinkedIn at http://www.linkedin.com/in/scottwilde

    Scott Wilde
    American Family Insurance

  3. Danielle Crumble
    Posted July 16, 2010 at 8:20 am | Permalink

    I love this dialogue. Personal touch has always lead to more successful recruiting efforts in the long run. It’s hard to form relationships that are based in something other then a transaction when “High Tech” social media becomes a sole means of communication. Perhaps I’m old school, but I was trained to be of service to both the internal client and my candidate who is placing his professional life in my hands. And being available and providing hands on face to face communication tends to breed a loyalty and longer term employees.

    Just my two cents!

    Dani

  4. Posted September 4, 2014 at 11:36 am | Permalink

    Aw, this was a really nice post. Taking the time and
    actual effort to create a superb article… but what can I say… I put things off a whole lot and never manage to get anything done.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

