Social Networking with Scott

Social networking.   My Face-book page just prompted me to share “What is on my mind”?  It actually took a moment or two for me to answer the question.   The answer was lawn care and social networking.   Let’s skip over the lawn care thought and go to social networking.

Social networking has been a hot topic lately and more people are asking me why they should get involved.  My view is social networking allows people to get involved and share thoughts and ideas through the Internet.  It allows people to not only gather information from others, but to provide their input.  Social networking is interactive.  

So now comes an invatation to be interactive.  Don’t be shy.  Take a look at the poll listed below and vote on where you go for information on a company when you are looking at working there. 

As a bonus, if you use LinkedIn as a social networking tool, I invite you to join my network.  Just send me an invite and let me know you were invited through the blog.   Just visit my profile by clicking here  and add me to your network.

Thanks and take care.

Scott

5 Comments

  1. Posted May 19, 2009 at 7:50 am | Permalink

    I think the HR department has come a long way- they are no longer just a “personnel” department- They are more like having a friend in Madison…

  2. Sharon Dimit
    Posted May 19, 2009 at 7:59 am | Permalink

    What happened to old fashioned newspaper classifieds? Oops, my generation gap is showing. Hopefully, AmFam is my last job and I don’t have to worry about it;-)

  3. amfamscott
    Posted May 20, 2009 at 1:55 pm | Permalink

    Len and Sharon,

    Thank you both for the comments. Len, thanks for the kind words. Sharon, loved your reference to newspapers. We still use newspapers and other media to recruit, but the blog is a great way to be interactive. As for the generation gap, looks like you are up to speed on all the new social networking tools. As for me, I think (yes I don’t know) I am using 14 social networking tools including Twitter.

    Take care

    Scott

  4. Posted May 20, 2009 at 2:43 pm | Permalink

    When is AmFam going to get a fan page on Facebook, I know I’d like to become a fan of the company I am proud to work for as well as do business with.

  5. Scott Wilde
    Posted May 20, 2009 at 9:10 pm | Permalink

    Wendy,

    I am so glad you asked about Facebook. We do have a career focused American Family page. Just use this link to get to the page.

    http://www.facebook.com/pages/Madison-WI/American-Family-Insurance-Careers/41999821856

    Check out the page and feel free to join as a “fan”.

    Take care.

    Scott


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

