Opportunity Awaits

shutterstock_Know on DoorI’ve had some rather interesting and fun questions posed to me while interviewing candidates.  One of my favorites was a thought provoking question from a candidate who wanted me to sum up American Family with one word.  The question threw me for a bit of a loop but the word that stuck out for me was “opportunity”.  Unable to just leave it at that I went on to explain why.

Education is a big component of the makeup here at AmFam.  We have an education center that hosts classes on technical skills as well as soft skills at no cost to the employee.  These classes aim to help employees both professionally and personally and can be taken in-person and online.  AmFam also helps reimburse for formal education.  We even host some local college and university courses right here on our Madison campus!  Aside from formal education there are opportunities for job rotations, job shadowing, mentoring from senior level employees, seminars, and certifications.  With so many different divisions and departments there is a wealth of opportunities at our fingertips.  Opportunity is knocking….

-Mike

One Comment

  1. Ed Pruessing
    Posted May 21, 2009 at 11:25 am | Permalink

    I completely agree with the word ‘opportunity’ to describe American Family. I’ve never worked for a company that had as many great continuing education options available as American Family.

    I took advantage of the education reimbursement to return to school, switch my major, and get my bachelor degree to continue my career. I’ve also taken many of the insurance industry courses to correlate all the business knowledge I learned in college to the day-to-day operations here at American Family.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

