Interviewed by a 2nd grader

 elizabeth-interview-for-school

Thanks for viewing our blog.  I had a very rewarding experience this past week that I can’t wait to share.   As part of my role, I often get forwarded what I refer to as drive-by emails  – general inquiries or contacts.  April 2nd I received an email subject titled interview.  Naturally I assumed it was a career seeker wanting to make a connection.  Not this time – an employee was reaching out on behalf of her daughter.   Long story short – I welcomed the opportunity to be interviewed by a 2nd grader for a class project on career opportunities. 

Wow, what a fun experience!  Great to be on the opposite side of the table, after years of being the interviewer.   One question asked was “What equipment do I use with my job”?  This really made me realize how much I rely on the computer to complete my work tasks.  I don’t think computers even existed when I was in grade school (ok, I’m not that old). My favorite inteview question was “What subjects in school helped me be successful on the job”.  I replied with communication courses (interpersonal skills), social sciences (understanding groups/people), math (compensation and setting wages), and history (current events/research).  Isn’t it something to think that while an MBA is part of my professional profile, perhaps what makes me successful today was what I learned while in grade school.

Stay tuned next week for Amfam Road Map.

Lisa

3 Comments

  1. Anthony
    Posted April 15, 2009 at 7:21 am | Permalink

    Nice post. It is nice to know that some people still have time for our children. Our lives at AmFam are so busy, and it is wonderful to see time being taken to help out a child.

    Just think 10 years ago… The internet. hmmmm.. HAve to check in on the WayBack Machine ( http://www.archive.org/index.php )

    American Family Insurance Web Archive : http://web.archive.org/web/*/http://www.amfam.com

  2. Mike
    Posted April 17, 2009 at 4:44 pm | Permalink

    Lisa, great post! I don’t suppose the MBA has helped you with your current role too ; )

  3. Posted May 19, 2009 at 8:19 am | Permalink

    My daughter was the one who interviewed Lisa, as well as several other individuals at American Family for this project. She was thrilled that these people took the time to meet with her and answer her questions. It left a very good impression on her about what our values are at AmFam.

    Her teacher was also thrilled that we accommodated her request and was very happy with the final project. In fact, when I went into my daughter’s class to share with them what I do at American Family, my daughter’s teacher told the kids that when they grow up and are looking for a job that they need to remember it’s important to work for a company like American Family – one that treats you like family.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

