Resume Writing – Objective Statement II

Thanks to those people that reached out to me recently on the posts.  There were emails and voicemails, but no one left a post on the blog.  Now I can’t wait any longer.  I am excited to see who leaves that first blog response.  Go for it.

 The people I spoke to asked if an objective statement is needed.  It sounds like a few places are encouraging people to leave the objective statement off.  My thought is why wouldn’t you use an objective statement?  In a sentence or two you can say a lot about what you are interested in and the skills you have to do that type of work.

 When I read a resume, I really like to read the objective statement.  What the objective statement does is set the tone for the rest of the resume.  If I see the correct position listed and a few key skills related to the position, I am more excited to read through the rest of the resume.  This tells me you read the description of the position and understand what is needed to get the job done.

 Remember that you are the person to decide if you want to use an objective statement. 

 Let me know if you use an objective statement or don’t. 

 Take care and send me that first blog response.

 Scott

2 Comments

  1. Theresa Peachey
    Posted April 8, 2009 at 2:53 pm | Permalink

    I do include an objective statement on my resume…always have. I think it’s important to state what you are looking for in a job/career. Plus, you should WANT the reader to read on. The resume is the first touch point for possibly the best job ever! If you can’t grab the reader’s attention in the objective statement, you resume may get added to the bottom of that stack of 100+ resumes.

  2. Scott Wilde
    Posted April 13, 2009 at 10:51 am | Permalink

    Theresa,

    Well stated. The objective statement does set the tone of the resume and encourages me to read on. Thanks for the comments.

    Take care,

    Scott


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

